Author Topic: Should Ministers and Ass. Ministers pay for their own Blackberries.  (Read 817 times)

Offline david4pj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
THE STATES assembled on Wednesday
20th January 2010, at 09.30 a.m. under
the Presidency of
Mr. Michael Nelson de la Haye,
Greffier of the States.

Blackberries: costs for Ministers and Assistant Ministers and use in the Assembly P.186/2009

THE STATES commenced consideration of a proposition of Deputy Trevor Mark Pitman of St. Helier concerning the provision and use of Blackberries in the Assembly.

Rejected a proposition of Senator Philip Francis Cyril Ozouf that the Assembly move to the consideration of the next item on the Order Paper.

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 22                                                            CONTRE: 23                            BSTAIN: 1

Senator P.F.C. Ozouf                                           Senator T.A. Le Sueur             Connétable of St. Mary
Senator F.E. Cohen                                              Senator P.F. Routier
Senator B.I. Le Marquand                                    Senator B.E. Shenton
Connétable of St. Ouen                                        Senator J.L. Perchard
Connétable of St. Helier                                       Senator A. Breckon
Connétable of Trinity                                           Senator S.C. Ferguson
Connétable of Grouville                                       Senator A.J.D. Maclean
Connétable of St. Brelade                                     Connétable of St. Lawrence
Connétable of St. John                                         Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S)
Connétable of St. Saviour                                     Deputy of St. Martin
Connétable of St. Peter                                         Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S)
Deputy J.B. Fox (H)                                              Deputy J.A. Martin (H)
Deputy of St. Peter                                                Deputy G.P. Southern (H)
Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré                                      Deputy of St. Ouen
Deputy of Trinity                                                  Deputy of Grouville
Deputy S.S.P.A. Power (B)                                  Deputy J.A. Hilton (H)
Deputy K.C. Lewis (S)                                          Deputy S. Pitman (H)
Deputy of St. John                                                 Deputy I.J. Gorst (C)
Deputy E.J. Noel (L)                                             Deputy A.E. Jeune (B)
Deputy T.A. Vallois (S)                                        Deputy of St. Mary
Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)                                      Deputy T.M. Pitman (H)
Deputy J.M. Maçon (S)                                         Deputy A.T. Dupré (C)
Deputy D. De Sousa (H)

THE STATES rejected paragraph (a) of a proposition of Deputy Trevor Mark Pitman of St. Helier to
request the Chief Minister to cease to meet the costs of Blackberries and call charges for all Ministers and Assistant Ministers from the budget of the Chief Minister’s Department and instead to reclaim such costs from the relevant member’s expenses on a monthly basis.

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 12                                                                 CONTRE: 36                                ABSTAIN: 2

Senator B.E. Shenton                                                Senator T.A. Le Sueur           Senator P.F. Routier
Deputy J.A. Martin (H)                                            Senator P.F.C. Ozouf              Deputy I.J. Gorst (C)
Deputy G.P. Southern (H)                                        Senator F.E. Cohen
Deputy of Grouville                                                  Senator J.L. Perchard
Deputy J.A. Hilton (H)                                              Senator A. Breckon
Deputy P.V.F. Le Claire (H)                                     Senator S.C. Ferguson
Deputy S. Pitman (H)                                                Senator A.J.D. Maclean
Deputy of St. Mary                                                    Senator B.I. Le Marquand
Deputy T.M. Pitman (H)                                             Connétable of St. Ouen
Deputy T.A. Vallois (S)                                              Connétable of St. Helier
Deputy M.R. Higgins (H)                                           Connétable of Trinity
Deputy D. De Sousa (H)                                             Connétable of Grouville
                                                                                    Connétable of St. Brelade
                                                                                    Connétable of St. Martin
                                                                                     Connétable of St. John
                                                                                      Connétable of St. Saviour
                                                                                      Connétable of St. Clement
                                                                                      Connétable of St. Peter
                                                                                      Connétable of St. Lawrence
                                                                                     Connétable of St. Mary
                                                                                      Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S)
                                                                                      Deputy of St. Martin
                                                                                       Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S)
                                                                                       Deputy J.B. Fox (H)
                                                                                        Deputy of St. Ouen
                                                                                        Deputy of St. Peter
                                                                                        Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré (L)
                                                                                        Deputy of Trinity
                                                                                       Deputy S.S.P.A. Power (B)
                                                                                        Deputy K.C. Lewis (S)
                                                                                        Deputy of St. John
                                                                                        Deputy A.E. Jeune (B)
                                                                                        Deputy A.T. Dupré (C)
                                                                                        Deputy E.J. Noel (L)
                                                                                        Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)
                                                                                        Deputy J.M. Maçon (S)