Author Topic: Bailiff of Jersey cessation of dual rôle.  (Read 830 times)

Offline admin

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 124
Bailiff of Jersey cessation of dual rôle.
« on: August 15, 2011, 11:44:41 PM »

THE STATES assembled on Tuesday
9th September 2008, at 09.30 a.m. under
the Presidency of the Bailiff,
Sir Philip Bailhache.

Bailiff of Jersey: cessation of dual rôle P.112/2008

THE STATES rejected a proposition of Deputy Shona Pitman of St. Helier –

(a) to agree in principle that the dual rôle of the Bailiff as both President of the States and President of the Royal Court should cease and that the Bailiff and Deputy Bailiff should be replaced as Presiding Officers of the States by an elected Speaker and Deputy Speaker;

(b) to charge the Privileges and Procedures Committee to bring forward for approval the necessary legislation and to report on the financial implications of giving effect to the decision so that the Speaker could be elected no later than after the elections in 2011.

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 5                                              CONTRE: 46                                   ABSTAIN: 1
Senator S. Syvret                      Senator L. Norman            Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S)
Deputy J.A. Martin (H)             Senator F.H. Walker      
Deputy G.P. Southern (H)      Senator W. Kinnard      
Deputy P.V.F. Le Claire (H)      Senator T.A. Le Sueur      
Deputy S. Pitman (H)          Senator P.F. Routier      
                                          Senator M.E. Vibert      
                                            Senator P.F.C. Ozouf      
                                      Senator T.J. Le Main      
                                      Senator B.E. Shenton      
                                      Senator F.E. Cohen      
                                      Senator J.L. Perchard      
                                      Connétable of St. Ouen      
                                      Connétable of St. Mary      
                                      Connétable of St. Peter      
                                      Connétable of St. Clement      
                                      Connétable of St. Helier      
                                      Connétable of Trinity      
                                      Connétable of St. Lawrence      
                                      Connétable of Grouville      
                                      Connétable of St. Brelade      
                                      Connétable of St. Martin      
                                       Connétable of St. John      
                                       Connétable of St. Saviour      
                                       Deputy A. Breckon (S)      
                                       Deputy J.J. Huet (H)      
                                       Deputy of St. Martin      
                                       Deputy G.C.L. Baudains (C)      
                                       Deputy P.N. Troy (B)      
                                       Deputy C.J. Scott Warren (S)      
                                       Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S)      
                                       Deputy J.B. Fox (H)      
                                       Deputy S.C. Ferguson (B)      
                                       Deputy of St. Ouen      
                                       Deputy of Grouville      
                                       Deputy of St. Peter      
                                        Deputy J.A. Hilton (H)      
                                       Deputy G.W.J. de Faye (H)      
                                       Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré (L)      
                                       Deputy D.W. Mezbourian (L)      
                                       Deputy of Trinity      
                                       Deputy S.S.P.A. Power (B)      
                                       Deputy A.J.D. Maclean (H)      
                                       Deputy K.C. Lewis (S)      
                                       Deputy of St. John      
                                       Deputy I.J. Gorst (C)      
                                       Deputy of St. Mary