Author Topic: Rental Deposit Scheme to protect tenants’ deposits  (Read 1348 times)

Offline david4pj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Rental Deposit Scheme to protect tenants’ deposits
« on: August 23, 2011, 08:32:08 PM »
THE STATES assembled on Wednesday
7th October 2009, at 09.30 a.m. under
the Presidency of the Bailiff,
Michael Cameron St. John Birt Esquire.

Rental Deposit Scheme to protect tenants’ deposits P.130/2009

THE STATES, adopting a proposition of Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier, agreed to request the Minister for Housing to bring forward for approval, by the end of March 2010, Regulations under Article 24 of the Residential Tenancy (Jersey) Law 200- to establish a rental deposit scheme to protect deposits paid by tenants and to resolve disputes arising from the operation of the scheme.

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 22                                                              CONTRE: 18                        ABSTAIN: 2

Senator B.E. Shenton                                             Senator T.A. Le Sueur           Sen. B.I. Le Marquand
Senator A. Breckon                                               Senator P.F.C. Ozouf            Connétable of Grouville
Connétable of St. Ouen                                         Senator F.E. Cohen
Connétable of St. Helier                                        Senator S.C. Ferguson
Connétable of St. Saviour                                      Connétable of St. Brelade
Connétable of St. Peter                                          Connétable of St. John
Connétable of St. Lawrence                                   Connétable of St. Mary
Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S)                                      Deputy J.B. Fox (H)
Deputy of St. Martin                                              Deputy J.A. Hilton (H)
Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S)                                 Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré (L)
Deputy J.A. Martin (H)                                          Deputy of Trinity
Deputy G.P. Southern (H)                                      Deputy S.S.P.A. Power (B)
Deputy of Grouville                                               Deputy K.C. Lewis (S)
Deputy of St. Peter                                                  Deputy I.J. Gorst (C)
Deputy S. Pitman (H)                                              Deputy of St. John
Deputy M. Tadier (B)                                             Deputy A.E. Jeune (B)
Deputy of St. Mary                                                 Deputy A.T. Dupré (C)
Deputy T.M. Pitman (H)                                         Deputy E.J. Noel (L)
Deputy T.A. Vallois (S)
Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)
Deputy D. De Sousa (H)
Deputy J.M. Maçon (S)

Senators Terence Augustine Le Sueur, Philip Francis Cyril Ozouf, Sarah Craig Ferguson, Connétables
John le Sueur Gallichan of Trinity, Daniel Joseph Murphy of Grouville and Peter Frederick Maurice
Hanning of St. Saviour and Deputies Judith Ann Martin of St. Helier, John Alexander Nicholas
Le Fondré of St. Lawrence, Sean Seamus Patrick Augustine Power of St. Brelade and Ian Joseph Gorst of St. Clement, the Deputy of St. John, Deputies Montfort Tadier of St. Brelade, Tracey Anne Vallois of St. Saviour and Deborah Jane De Sousa of St. Helier, in accordance with the provisions of Standing Order 106(b), declared an interest not being of a direct financial nature, and remained in the Chamber for the duration of the debate.