Author Topic: Importation of Waste approval by the States Assembly  (Read 823 times)

Offline admin

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 124
Importation of Waste approval by the States Assembly
« on: August 10, 2011, 08:45:53 PM »

THE STATES assembled on Tuesday
20th April 2010, at 09.30 a.m. under
the Presidency of the Bailiff,
Michael Cameron St. John Birt Esquire.

Importation of Waste approval by the States Assembly P.17/2010

THE STATES commenced consideration of a proposition of the Environment Scrutiny Panel concerning the importation of waste. Adopting an amendment of the Minister for Transport and Technical Services, agreed that after the words ‘shall not proceed’ the words ‘and that no discussions or negotiations on this matter shall take place’ should be removed.

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 34                                                   CONTRE: 15                                          ABSTAIN: 0

Senator T.A. Le Sueur                               Connétable of St. Helier
Senator P.F. Routier                                  Connétable of St. John
Senator P.F.C. Ozouf                                Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S)
Senator T.J. Le Main                                 Deputy J.B. Fox (H)
Senator B.E. Shenton                                Deputy J.A. Martin (H)
Senator F.E. Cohen                                    Deputy J.A. Hilton (H)
Senator J.L. Perchard                                 Deputy S. Pitman (H)
Senator A. Breckon                                    Deputy M. Tadier (B)
Senator S.C. Ferguson                                Deputy of St. Mary
Senator A.J.D. Maclean                               Deputy T.M. Pitman (H)
Senator B.I. Le Marquand                           Deputy T.A. Vallois (S)
Connétable of St. Ouen                               Deputy M.R. Higgins (H)
Connétable of Trinity                                 Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)
Connétable of Grouville                             Deputy D.J. De Sousa (H)
Connétable of St. Brelade                           Deputy J.M. Maçon (S)
Connétable of St. Saviour
Connétable of St. Clement
Connétable of St. Peter
Connétable of St. Lawrence
Connétable of St. Mary
Deputy of St. Martin
Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S)
Deputy of St. Ouen
Deputy of Grouville
Deputy of St. Peter
Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré (L)
Deputy of Trinity
Deputy S.S.P.A. Power (B)
Deputy K.C. Lewis (S)
Deputy I.J. Gorst (C)
Deputy of St. John
Deputy A.E. Jeune (B)
Deputy A.T. Dupré (C)
Deputy E.J. Noel (L)

THE STATES, having resumed consideration of the proposition of the Environment Scrutiny Panel, as amended, agreed that the importation of waste into Jersey for treatment in the Island’s Energy from
Waste plant should not proceed until the principle of waste importation had been discussed and
approved by the States Assembly.